Career Development Tips

Checklist for accepting a job offer

Inspired by Charity Job’s Benita Culshaw’s article on 5 Things to Consider Before Accepting a Job Offer, I have reflected on what thoughts I had.

Firstly, having gone through an application process, I usually accept an offer.

For the first time in my career I find myself potentially in a position where I could choose between job offers. This is hugely confidence boosting and empowering.

Sometimes it can be easy to forget we are not 100% proving ourselves in an interview. An interview is two way. You have the chance to interview the employer through questions at the end. There’s no obligation to accept an offer.

Considerations may be the following:

Does the role align to your values?

Can you see yourself in the role? It can be helpful to visit the office so you know what the work environment is like.

Does the role line up to what you want to do?

Either is ok – Is it a job for now or for long term?

What would make or break the job for you? Perhaps you want to progress within a year, expect a salary increase or another day’s annual leave.

Reflecting on what your criteria is to accepting a job offer is worthwhile. People generally spend a lot of their life at work. Doing what you want professionally is important and worth our time considering.

Stay bold with your choices. Stay Fruity.

Leave a comment