Reviews

Impact of covid

Covid, the global pandemic making people unwell and unfortunately even leading to the end of life of some people. I was finishing my final year of university when covid hit in February 2020. I remember a friend at the time said there’s lockdowns in other European countries and it was just a matter of time that it would be the same in Britain. I know covid had negative effects for a lot of people but that wasn’t my experience.

I was in a good place in my final year. My relationships, situation and routine were stable. Covid showed me who my true friends are. Those who replied to messages, those who didn’t. The rejection was not that important to me. I didn’t mind. In fact I used the opportunity to take a step back from a few voluntary roles I was doing so I could refocus on the degree and keep up with changes in my coursework.

Covid highlighted the importance of self-championing. Self-championing being the idea to do something for yourself since no one else will do it for you. The ‘you do you’ philosophy. This attitude helped me refocus my efforts onto myself. Therefore, with more time I was able to organise myself and put myself first.

I learned how much companionship meant to me. My girlfriend at the time played a key role in keeping me comfortable, sane and functioning. That continuity helped me make timely decisions like moving out early so save money since lectures were all online just like exams. Companionship continues to be highly valued to help me function (interface) in a society that thinks differently to me.

Covid was a tool to help me focus on what is important to me. Helped me reorganise my priorities and taught me what I valued.

It’s worth seeing opportunities in every situation.

Leave a comment